Bikerbernie's Weblog
WordPress.com weblog Acting Locally Affecting the World Globally a Little at a Time!

In the Name of Security

Due to increased security measures and insurance regulations coolers or large bags are NOT permitted into the grandstand area!

No food or beverage may be brought into facility.

For the safety and comfort of our fans, carry-in coolers or large bags are not permitted into the grandstand area.

These are common statements and printed on virtually all tickets and posters of all spectator attended events. I do not into buy it. Since 911 “safety” has been used for one thing and one thing only, PROFIT. A person would have to be blind not to recognize it. If you cannot bring in your own food and drink then who stands to gain and who stands to pay for it? $4.00 for bottled tap water at Rich (Ralph Wilson) Stadium is nonsense and gouging. That is an example because I do not mean to pick on Rich Stadium by itself, all places gouge. Do not kid yourself it is gouging. When you go some where and are forced to purchase their stuff then gouging laws should apply so that prices are kept reasonable. Sure one could argue that you do not have to attend these events, but then you would be missing the point. The point is that if you choose to attend and cannot bring your own snacks and beverage, then that by definition that is gouging. It is morally, ethically, and legally wrong to make a diabetic pay $4.00 for bottled tap water. I volunteered to work (while I was out of work and loosing my house) at Rich Stadium to raise funds for a not for profit organization. The income that I earned went to the organization. Due to increased safety measures, even we were searched . . . they were not going to let me in with a bottle of juice. I let them know I was a diabetic, case closed, I was let in with my juice. Sure again sardonic people could again say I do not have to volunteer but again, morally and ethically they would loose. We should eliminate all volunteers because they have a medical issue, give me a break.

Perspective

People could do more damage with items bought at these venues that with what they brought in. If I had a burger wrapped up it would be cold by the time I got it in, they would give me a hot burger off the grill and well that could hurt someone. This is just one example. Think about some of the souvenirs they sell, bobble heads for one, they can be tossed and hurt someone. So safety does not seem to be a factor when there is a profit to be made. Oh yeah, they better start selling ice less beverages.

 

b

No Responses to “In the Name of Security”

Leave a Reply

