Bikerbernie's Weblog
WordPress.com weblog Acting Locally Affecting the World Globally a Little at a Time!

Gay Marriage “Equal Rights Now” Part 2

What was said in PART 1 did not feel very good did it? No, it was not nice to call people cowards, dumb, worthless, and not worthy to serve public office that have differing opinions. Call what was said homophobic, hate speak, prejudice, ugly, infantile for calling names if you wish but you would have seriously misdirected anger. It was wrong, but I did not say these things, nor did any straight person or representative of straight people groups, representatives of gay groups and gay marriage supporters did about those people who are straight and those that oppose the gay marriage law. SEE ARTICLE HERE, and HERE.

See this is the problem that I have with this law. The people who are behind it use bullying tactics. The word heterophobic carries no weight but when a gay disagrees with a straight it would be just as fitting for that gay to be called heterophobic. Homophobic has destroyed politician’s careers, this is wrong. There is no voice of the people anymore there are over 300,000,000 voices and it is impossible for a politician or form of government to accommodate or please every one of them. If you cannot recognize this, you need help. I disagree with Governor David Patterson on this issue but being a sole issue is not reason enough for me not to support of vote for him. He has done things for me personally, and for an organization that which I belong and for that I will never forget him. This does not mean that I have to agree with every aspect of his platform nor does he have to agree with everything that I believe that is unreasonable and frankly delusional. I also feel that Governor David Patterson was out of line when he called non-supporters cowards by saying, “We have to make the climate safer for people who were sitting in this chamber who believe in gay marriage but didn’t have the intestinal fortitude to vote for it,” Paterson said. I would also say that we have to make the climate safer for people who were sitting in the chamber who believe in traditional marriage but realize the intimidation that they and their families have to endure for doing what they think is best for the state and the nation. Let us face it, may people do their best and that is the point. They have many constituents to represent and as I said above there is no way that they can represent all of them, they have to do the best that they can to represent the needs of the many not the few or the one. Like it or not the percentage of gay people in the world are in the low end of the single digits. Any politician who is part of a republic is doing his job when representing the majority and not the minority, something in every aspect of life in this country of ours today that is sadly askew. The squeaky wheel gets the grease is a serious threat to the stability of our country when that squeaky wheel is 1, 2, 3, 5, 10, or 20% of the population. Sooner rather than later the majority is going to rebel against this type of government, and more than likely it will not be pretty. WAKE UP PEOPLE.

THINGS ARE NOT ALWAYS AS INEQUITABLE AS THEY APPEAR

I have on many occasions attempted to enter in Wikipedia under domestic partnership the flipside of the discrimination issue, but alas many people do not like the truth and they continually remove my addition. I place it under the public sector and private business. It is the fact that there are cases of heterosexual discrimination in favor of homosexual favoritism. The particular example that I am going to reference started with a local Buffalo, NY company called Adelphia Cable. Adelphia Cable was bought by Time-Warner and they continued this particular practice. If you happen to be a homosexual couple living together you partner can receive medical benefits from Time-Warner. Conversely if you are a heterosexual couple living together, you cannot get your partner medical coverage. Interesting to say the very least. Please help me spread the word on this and encourage Wikipedia to lock this information in. You see basically you cannot make informed decisions without all the information. I do not know any individual that would disagree with me because a person is smart but people are dumb, panicky animals.

RESPECT

The lack of respect that the gay community has for those who oppose their proposed changes is hypocritical. Using hate speak like homophobic because one does not agree with you is as wrong as a person who does not agree with you calling you a fag. I will not listen to “no it is not” arguments because any reasonable logical person can see how right my former statement is, name calling is hateful and hurt full in any form, period. I am not going to give into any bully, oppressive tactics reminiscent of WWII nazi (intentionally not capitalized) Germany where you are going to join us, agree with us or we are going to humiliate, intimidate, ruin your life, and eliminate you. I had a job like that, and now I am looking for another job, BUT I still can look myself in the mirror.

2 Responses to “Gay Marriage “Equal Rights Now” Part 2”

  1. “I am not going to give into any bully, oppressive tactics reminiscent of WWII nazi (intentionally not capitalized) Germany where you are going to join us, agree with us or we are going to humiliate, intimidate, ruin your life, and eliminate you. I had a job like that, and now I am looking for another job, BUT I still can look myself in the mirror.”

    For some reason, that part is my favorite… 😛

  2. “Gay” people are not ‘gay’ at all, they are miserable.


Leave a comment