Bikerbernie's Weblog
WordPress.com weblog Acting Locally Affecting the World Globally a Little at a Time!

There Goes The Neighborhood

We have just got to keep the white boys from getting those jobs just because they passed the qualifying test. Again we seem . . . correction . . . Obama seems to want to do the PC thing instead of the right thing. We have to appoint women and minorities because . . . well . . . because they are women and minorities. This country has slipped away from hiring or voting for the right person in favor of its new matrix which has got us not just circling the drain but already halfway down it.

OK, when being considered for such a position everyone falls under scrutiny and Sotomayor was no exception, then again . . . She escaped disqualification for blatantly with a capital “B” disqualifying serious personality and character flaws. This woman has proven more than once that she is sexist and racist.

Let me reiterate as I have so many times before there is only one “first” no matter what color or sex you may be and if you were not the first you do not get to hold that title at a later date because of sex, race, or any other divider some one wishes to throw into the mix. However, we now of course have our “first” hispanic US Supreme Court Justice. That is only if Cardozo is not a hispanic name. Oh yeah that is right it is and Obama and his lemming followers bought into another historic first that fell waaaaaay short yet again.

I am sure that in the near future we will be reading about the “first” (insert female and or ethnicity [other than white] here) on the moon. Oh hell, he will take credit for the first period. You just gotta love this stuff with a bit of misandry (because men obviously no longer fit into this twisted sense of firsts).

There was this guy by the name of Benjamin Nathan Cardozo that was a US Supreme Court Justice oh about 1932. WAKE UP PEOPLE!

On a local note the Buffalo Snooze er a News went for this “first” story hook line and sinker, like anyone of us that live in the area would believe that the Snooze could get a story wrong . . .

b

9 Responses to “There Goes The Neighborhood”

  1. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Benjamin_N._Cardozo
    Actually, Bernie, Cardozo was from Portuguese parentage. Both sets of grandparents were Sephardi Jews who immigrated from England before the American Revolution. That hardlly translates into American Hispanic.
    I do believe that a person should not be allowed to serve in any position whether fire fighter or Supreme Court justice, simply based on the fact of their gender or parental nationality. That being said, we will never reach full equality until some of that preferential treatment occurs. “The Firsts”. We have a history of anyone other than white male need not apply. This attitude, although not quite as blatant, is still alive and well today. Sotomayor is an American born of Puerto Rican parents. Puerto Rico has been a territory of the US since 1902. I dream of the day when we can stop having restrictive territorial “neighborhoods” and start having inclusive, cooperative “communities” of people peacfully coexisting. But I doubt that will happen fully in my life time.

  2. Thanks for the info, I stand corrected. That is nice to know. The word hispanic was not well used in Cardozo’s time there are confusing lines defining hispanic. There is no documentation of his family coming to America in the 1700’s either but he was regardless here.

    Are Portuguese people Hispanic?

    The United States Census Bureau do not regard Portuguese as Hispanic butthis is not a true representation. It is all a matter of perspective. Tony Coelho, a Portuguese-American congressman was a member of the Congressional Hispanic Caucus when he was in the House, and Representative Dennis Cardoza, Democrat of California, whose ancestors came from the Azores, a Portuguese archipelago, is still a member, so who am I to argue with people of Portuguese descent. If they are OK with it so am I but I do not believe in them jumping ship willy-nilly when it is convenient.

    The director of the National Association of Latino Elected and Appointed Officials, Arturo Vargas, said the practical definition he uses includes people who are “descended from countries in the Americas” with a Spanish-language heritage and it does not even include those from Spain itself. I find that odd and far from what the mainstream thinks.

    God, I wish I had this passion for learning in school.

    BTW welcome to the site.

    b

  3. atticannie,

    Your cited article states “Cardozo was a member of the Spanish and Portuguese Jewish community”

    b

  4. You look young enough I probably could have had you in one of my classes before I retired. A passion for learning can come at any age. I’ll bet we could probably get into some great debates. I used to love to challenge my students. Some of my brightest students in my gifted ed classes made the poorest grades yet when they found their passion, things really turned around. Oh and as for all this misandry and misogyny you seem to feel in the air, I think the clue has been told to us by a great master…love your enemy as yourself. The day when men can stop looking at women as objects to own and women can stop thinking of men as free rides…we will have taken a big step forward into a long overdue reconcilitation.

  5. atticannie,

    I look young and I am but you would have to be more than a few years retired. I am on the down side (or is that slide) to 50 just a few years to go. I was one of those students that did not do really well because of the lack of a challenge. I never did homework (I enjoyed dirt biking much more) but I did cause a stir in class once or twice. A’s and B’s were common with a C thrown in once in a while for good measure.

    b

  6. I’m old but not THAT old. You are right. You are old enough to be a younger brother.

  7. atticannie,

    “Oh and as for all this misandry and misogyny you seem to feel in the air, I think the clue has been told to us by a great master…love your enemy as yourself. The day when men can stop looking at women as objects to own and women can stop thinking of men as free rides…we will have taken a big step forward into a long overdue reconcilitation.”

    I like it but (here is one of those great debates you mentioned) goose meet gander. You could have just as easily said “Oh and as for all this misandry and misogyny you seem to feel in the air, I think the clue has been told to us by a great master…love your enemy as yourself. The day when women can stop thinking of men as free rides and men can stop looking at women as objects to own …we will have taken a big step forward into a long overdue reconciliation.”

    Perspective seems to be very important in our society today and though incorrectly interpreted many will read what you wrote as men are wrong and when men no longer “X” women will no longer “Y.” I have seen this played out many times before and because you put what men do wrong first it is seen as cause and result. I find this an interesting social development that is used by opportunistic feminists in their cause. I am going out on a limb here but you are a woman?

    What you say is true but with all the interaction that I have read and participated in I have seen this deceptive tactic used by both sides, and THANK YOU very much for seeing that I do see misogyny AS WELL AS misandry. Just for incite, what is your take on why misogyny is not caught in spell check but misandry is not a recognized word? I would be very interested in your opinion.

    b

  8. atticannie,

    It is funny I used that pic because it is the one that I look the oldest in hoping that some would believe that i have had a broader world experience. Of course I never backed away from a challenge or experience and had more world experience at 20 than many at 50. I had seen at least 20 states by then and have been a firefighter for more than 2 years, and dealt with more hands on deaths than many experience in their lifetime some from traveling (and stopping to help, it really was a matter of wrong place at the right time) and some from firefighting. It is amazing what you see and experience while traveling and not just at the points of interest but by driving or motorcycling those many tens of thousands of miles. I have no regrets about my travels it has helped make me who I am.

    b


Leave a Reply

