Bikerbernie's Weblog
WordPress.com weblog Acting Locally Affecting the World Globally a Little at a Time!

Acetone and Gasoline

I find it interesting that shortly after acetone as a fuel additive for better mileage became public the only type of gas you can buy is with ethanol. This acetone in ethanol gasoline does not work.

I can tell you that I did experiment with it and it most certainly did help. Depending on the vehicle results varied. I used a 2002 Saturn Vue. My highway mileage was between 24-26 miles mpg with 5 people and a full cargo area. After a few tanks of acetone with gas the mpg was 40 mpg. While towing a 6′ X 9′ trailer with 3,000 lbs behind me and 5 people in 4th not 5th gear the Vue was getting 25+ mile to the gallon. This translates to 30 mpg if I could use 5th gear towing the trailer (high gear is never recommended while towing). At 24 mpg and an increase 67% = 40 mpg.

Yes there were many that feared ruining there vehicle but my car jut keep running better. I used it for over 30,000 miles and then the Vue was in a roll over accident at 78,000 miles. Since then the only gas in out area has been ethanol. So I have not been able to test this with my replacement vehicle a 2002 Blazer 4X4.

Why will the government and gas companies not produce this gas. Honestly each vehicle needs differing amounts of acetone from 1/2 oz to 3 oz per 10 gallons (incidentally that is why acetone will not ruin your car because it does not eve realize it is in there because it is so diluted, 1/2 oz per 10 gal = 1:2860, at 3 oz = 1:427). The other reason is that a country that consumes most of the gas in the world (our economy is majorly biased on oil) realizing a 67% surplus (remember that results may vary) would collapse our economy. It is that simple. You are not allowed to overnight increase you mileage because it would kill our country. This is why there are years given to mandates by law for auto manufactures to increase mpg so that the economy can adjust to the change gradually.

b

3 Responses to “Acetone and Gasoline”

  1. Very interesting find! I’ve heard about this acetone but am reluctant to use it because I’ve heard conflicting stories about the petrol-ethanol ratio needed. What has been your experience? How much acetone per gallon of gas?

  2. ///\\\///\\\ NOTE \\\///\\\///

    Acetone will not work with ethanol

    With my 2002 Vue I used about 3/4 of an oz per ten gallons. The general consensus is typically 1 – 3 oz. I then came across 1/2 -3 oz and I started trying less than an oz, that is when I found the dramatic increase in mileage. Every car does vary, so you will have to experiment a little, in general less is more.

    The theory is that acetone diminishes the surface tension of the gas thus allowing smaller droplets which means more complete combustion, more power, and less fuel needed. I worked great for me but now my area only sells ethanol . . . 😦

    b

  3. Since using the Syntek product we have not had any failures in injector pumps or injectors. We use generators in pre-Olympic events and TV sporting events. In the 2002 Winter Olympics we were using 875 gallons of diesel fuel per day and after using the Syntek product our fuel consumption dropped to 675 gallons of fuel per day. We have had generators come to us form other parts of the country that were not running real well. We added a double dose of the Syntek product and within several hours the generators began running smoother. This is a great product that I recommend to everyone.
    Dave P.


Leave a Reply

