Bikerbernie's Weblog
WordPress.com weblog Acting Locally Affecting the World Globally a Little at a Time!

Earth 6,000 or 4.5 Billion Years Old?

I have my own reasons and they are not anti religious but I believe that the earth is 4.5 billion years old. I would really like to hear from those that believe that the earth is only 6,000 years old. I want some sort of evidence scientific or religious but it cannot be “because I say so and I am right” or “God says so, and that is the way it is” These are not provable points. From my point of view I believe that science and religion can make a good marriage but many on both sides believe you cannot have one AND the other, it is one or the other.

b

14 Responses to “Earth 6,000 or 4.5 Billion Years Old?”

  1. Here is another Free Video discussion of the necessity of God to Create: not only the Earth and universe, but every lifeform that exists. It’s called “The Case for a Creator” although youtube lists it under “Scientific Proof of God”

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ppIgFEFUpjw&feature=channel

    PS: Feel Free to Edit, or DELETE any of my previos posts or comments that you don’t like: as this is Your Blog, not mine.

    I also commend you for your willingness to seek out the Facts.

    Randy B.

  2. RB,

    I am not offended or upset. I am seeking knowledge. You are not slamming me or calling names so why should I be offended? You are sharing information the only true way people can make informed decisions. I will only delete your comments if you request them to be deleted it is important that all seekers have all of the information.

    The only catch 22 here be it science or religion (I find them closely related) is both at this point in time in our development requires faith. I find that fascinating.

  3. RB,

    I agree with your assertion that language is about 5,700 years old and I believe that we can follow this back to the Sumatrans but it presents a couple of issues.

    1) This would seem to suggest that man and dinosaurs lived together

    2) Language was inherent and an instant development in conjunction with the creation of man. This is not impossible but improbable.

  4. Another thought:

    2 Peter 3

    The Day of the Lord

    8 But do not forget this one thing, dear friends: With the Lord a day is like a thousand years, and a thousand years are like a day.

    I believe this to be taken out of context. This has nothing to do with stating the age of the earth.

    Furthermore if it were meant in that way then:

    Genesis 1

    31 And God saw every thing that he had made, and, behold, it was very good. And the evening and the morning were the sixth day.

    26 And God said, Let us make man in our image, after our likeness: and let them have dominion over the fish of the sea, and over the fowl of the air, and over the cattle, and over all the earth, and over every creeping thing that creepeth upon the earth. 27 So God created man in his own image, in the image of God created he him; male and female created he them. 28 And God blessed them, and God said unto them, Be fruitful, and multiply, and replenish the earth, and subdue it: and have dominion over the fish of the sea, and over the fowl of the air, and over every living thing that moveth [6] upon the earth.

    has it own unique problems because given that the sixth day was 1,000 years and say that the seventh day has been competed that is only 2,000 years making Jesus arrive BEFORE man existed. This is problematic.

    This then would have to be at least the eleventh day and it seems that those that would argue that the earth is only 6,000 years old believe that we are still in the sixth day. This is a serious inescapable, as far as I can see it, flaw in logic.


Leave a Reply

