Bikerbernie's Weblog
WordPress.com weblog Acting Locally Affecting the World Globally a Little at a Time!

A Tribute to Kevin McPhail


Tragedy hits again. Kevin McPhail, a 15 year old boy has died from injuries suffered in a snowmobile accident. No I am not going to preach the dangers of snowmobiles or ask that they be banned like many will with their knee jerk reactions.

Fact #1) Young people die
Fact #2) Adults cannot change fact #1

I am saddend however over the fact that Kevin has not received the same amount of attention that Desha. One cannot say for sure but is this another example of the value of girls/women over boys/men? Only those covering the story can answer that question.

Kids are kids and in their mind are invincible or just do not ever think about the dire consequences when moving at 40 or more miles an hour and suddenly being stopped by a shed.

My son 16 knew this boy, I never had the pleasure. His family moved from Kenmore, NY to Orchard Park, NY. A family member of his while in Kenmore belonged to the Kenmore Fire Department. Unfortunately and to my son’s disappointment I found the name out too late and he did not attend any of the ceremonies.

I feel bad for my son. We have taught our kids the meaning of these gatherings, that they are more for the living than the dead. The living needs to mourn and need the support of friends and family. They are very good understanding this concept. I wish I found his name out earlier.

This is second child to die that had connections with my children in recent weeks and the fact that their 24 year old cousin died one year ago on February 2nd is not helping matter any. There is a sullen mood in our house, but my kids are strong and resilient for that I thank God. They will be OK but I am becoming increasingly agitated and angry because my kids have to endure these tough life lessons so early in their life.

I am so sorry I digress because of my empathy.

Kevin McPhail, my son is thinking about you and your family, and so is the rest of our family. I am sorry I have nothing more to say because I did not know you but you had a link to my family so we all wish you GODSPEED!

b

5 Responses to “A Tribute to Kevin McPhail”

  1. Kevin, you didn’t make it to space in this lifetime, but with your outstretched arm, you’ve slipped the surly bonds of earth and gone to touch the face of God.

  2. Ajlouny,

    That was beautiful.

    It also struck a chord for me. I was a math, science, and physics major and then found out that commercial flying or astronaut was not going to happen because I am color deficient. Your words struck home for me also, thanks.

    b

  3. R.I.P. Kevin. While I did not know Kevin, I am familiar with the way he was treated after the accident. It is part and parcel of how little value the media put on male children and males in general. It is shameless hypocrisy and downright mean-spirited. I do not accept that treatement willingly, I am one person.

  4. Thank you. I am Kevin’s mom. I just saw this from a link that someone posted on a new Facebook page for Kev. He is thought of and missed every minute of every day by so many that love him. He will always be with me. I’m not sure who your son is who knew Kevin, but if he was friends with Kev I know he must be a wonderful boy. Every friend of Kevin’s that I have ever met have been really great kids. The Facebook page is Rip Kevin McPhail if your boy would like to see it . Memories and thoughts from any of Kev’s friends are welcome. Again thank you for your kind words.
    Bless you and your family.
    Kevin McPhail’s Mom,
    Colleen Whitney

  5. Colleen,

    Thank you for the kind words. I apologize for not getting back to you earlier but my family and I have suffered major financial set backs. I lost my job back in may of 2009 and as a consequence we cut out our phone, cable, intranet etc. and eventually lost our house (built for my parents) and all we owned, yearbooks baby pictures, clothes, things from my parents, virtually everything but the cloths on our backs. We are just now starting to get back on our feet at poverty levels of about ¼ of what I use to earn. This is the first time I have had a chance to check my blog in a very long time. My family and I hope this note finds you as well as can be and you are still in our thoughts and prayers.

    Bikerbernie


Leave a Reply

