Bikerbernie's Weblog
WordPress.com weblog Acting Locally Affecting the World Globally a Little at a Time!

Sexism at its Best

SEE MSNBC ARTICLE HERE

I am sure by now you have heard about the Palin, McCain Halloween decorations. The have made national news. This homeowner was visited by the Secret Service, the mayor, protesters, et al. The home owner was even investigated for a “Hate Crime.” Now you and I may find this decoration offensive but it is his property, his first amendment right, and his sense of humor that were under attack here.

Get this the Palin in a noose was causing all the stir but not the Flaming McCain. Only the Palin decoration came down.

I vowed that if the noose nonsense kept up I was going to have nooses in my display for Halloween, not for a racial statement but for a first amendment right! I am now convinced that I am going to do this. I want to do this to show that I have a right to display what I believe to be “Halloweenish.” I feel that skeletons, mummy’s, spiders, and nooses all go hand-in-hand with Halloween and I defy anyone to tell me otherwise especially if they tell me I cannot do it.

This issue has become out of control and I am going to assert my rights to have a spooky yard. I do a death board every year that labels murderers, terrorists (and their victims), actors that played spooky roles, and people that died in crazy ironic ways. I have a special section for those that I wish to honor because they were heroes (like the teacher from Va Tech), or because they were well liked entertainers that played spooky rolls. I even honored a search and rescue dog from 911 that died from lung problems. This board displays thos that have died from October 31, to Octover 31 the current year.

I believe that this is one of the most definitive displays of sexism regarding the superior protection of women in our society and the lack of male equal protection under the law. Do not get me wrong I believe that telling him to take down any of these decorations is wrong, no matter how we feel, I may not agree with him but I will defend his right to do so.

b

One Response to “Sexism at its Best”

  1. […] bikerbernie wrote an interesting post today onSexism at its BestHere’s a quick excerptI am sure by now you have heard about the Palin, McCain Halloween decorations. The have made national news. This homeowner was visited by the Secret Service, the mayor, protesters, et al. The home owner was even investigated for a “Hate … […]


Leave a Reply

